Division B — HEALTH
Division Overview
Division B — Health is part of the Full-Year Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2025 (H.R. 1968). It is not a full Department of Health and Human Services budget. It extends expiring public health, Medicare, Medicaid, and human-services programs, mostly through September 30, 2025 (the end of fiscal year 2025).
Overview
This division keeps a set of health programs and Medicare payment rules from expiring in spring 2025. Earlier law had carried many of them only through March 31, 2025. Division B generally pushes those deadlines to September 30 or October 1, 2025, and sets funding for the second half of the fiscal year for several community and diabetes programs. It does not set the regular operating budgets for agencies such as the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the Food and Drug Administration.
Total Spending
There is no single total for this division. It is a package of extensions, not a department-wide appropriation.
The largest amounts written into the text are mandatory-style program funds for April 1, 2025, through September 30, 2025:
- About $2.56 billion combined for community health centers, the National Health Service Corps, teaching health centers, and the two special diabetes programs.
Other stated amounts (Medicare outreach, quality measurement, family health information centers, and the Medicare Improvement Fund) are separate and are listed below. Many Medicare and Medicaid items change payment rules or expiration dates and do not include a dollar figure in this text.
Key Funding Areas
- Community Health Centers: $2,135,835,616 — about $2.14 billion for April 1–September 30, 2025, for clinics that serve people in underserved areas regardless of ability to pay.
- National Health Service Corps: $172,972,603 — about $173 million for the same six months, for scholarships and loan repayment for clinicians who work in shortage areas.
- Teaching health centers (physician training): $87,739,726 — about $87.7 million for the same period, for residency programs based in community clinics rather than only in large hospitals.
- Special Diabetes Program (Type 1): $79,832,215 — about $79.8 million for April 1–September 30, 2025, available until spent, for Type 1 diabetes research and related work.
- Special Diabetes Program for Indians: $79,832,215 — about $79.8 million for the same period, available until spent, for diabetes prevention and treatment for American Indians and Alaska Natives.
- Medicare outreach and benefits counseling: amounts available through September 30, 2025, are raised to $30 million for State Health Insurance Assistance Programs, $30 million for Area Agencies on Aging, $10 million for Aging and Disability Resource Centers, and $30 million to coordinate efforts to tell older Americans about benefits. Those replace lower amounts that ran only through March 31, 2025 ($22.5 million, $22.5 million, $8.5 million, and $22.5 million).
- Medicare quality-measure work: funding is raised from $11.03 million to $14.03 million, and the end date moves from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Family-to-Family Health Information Centers: $6 million for all of fiscal year 2025, replacing $3 million that covered only the part of the year before April 1, 2025.
- Medicare Improvement Fund: the amount in the fund is raised from $1.251 billion to $1.804 billion (an increase of $553 million). The text does not spell out new projects for that increase.
Sexual risk avoidance education and personal responsibility education are extended for the full fiscal year at the prior annual funding level. This division does not print those dollar amounts.
Notable Provisions
- Medicare telehealth rules stay in place through September 30, 2025. That includes care from home and outside rural areas, a wider set of clinicians, telehealth at federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics, audio-only visits, hospice recertification visits, and a delay of in-person visit requirements for mental health care delivered by telehealth.
- Hospital care at home waiver authority is extended from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Extra Medicare payments for rural and small hospitals continue through the end of fiscal year 2025, including the low-volume hospital adjustment and the Medicare-dependent hospital program (extended to October 1, 2025).
- Ambulance add-on payments and the floor on the physician work geographic index (which props up payments in lower-cost areas) are extended to October 1, 2025.
- Certain oral antiviral drugs remain covered under Medicare Part D through September 30, 2025.
- Medicaid cuts to disproportionate-share hospital payments are delayed. The bill drops a cut that had been scheduled for April 1–September 30, 2025, and moves the reduction schedule so it runs through 2028 instead of through 2027. The text does not state the dollar size of those delayed cuts.
- National health security authorities are extended from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025, including dates tied to the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, the National Disaster Medical System, and related preparedness provisions. No new dollar amounts are set in that section.
- Teen pregnancy-prevention education programs — sexual risk avoidance education and the Personal Responsibility Education Program — are funded for the full fiscal year 2025 rather than only a partial, pro-rated period.
- Medicare sequestration timing is adjusted. One statutory period changes from 8 months to 10 months, and another from 4 months to 2 months. The text does not state the payment cut percentage or the budget effect.
- The Secretary of Health and Human Services may carry out several of the Medicare changes by program instruction rather than full new regulations.
Who Benefits
- Patients of community health centers, including people who are uninsured or underinsured and people in rural and medically underserved areas.
- Doctors, nurses, and other clinicians who get National Health Service Corps support to practice in shortage areas, and residents training in community-based teaching health centers.
- People with Type 1 diabetes, and American Indian and Alaska Native communities served by the Special Diabetes Program for Indians.
- Medicare beneficiaries who use telehealth, hospital-at-home care, ambulance services, or certain oral antivirals, and rural beneficiaries whose doctors are protected by the geographic payment floor.
- Small, rural, and Medicare-dependent hospitals, and hospitals that receive Medicaid disproportionate-share payments for serving low-income patients.
- Older adults and people with disabilities who get help understanding Medicare and other benefits through state and local aging and disability programs.
- Families of children with special health care needs, through Family-to-Family Health Information Centers.
- Youth served by the sexual risk avoidance and personal responsibility education programs. The bill text does not identify grantees or enrollment numbers.
Plain English Summary
This slice of the bill is a “don’t let these health programs expire” package for the rest of fiscal year 2025. It puts about $2.14 billion more into community health centers for April through September, plus smaller amounts for clinician loan repayment, doctor training in community clinics, and diabetes programs, including a program for American Indians and Alaska Natives. For people on Medicare, it keeps pandemic-era telehealth rules, hospital-at-home care, extra payments for rural hospitals and ambulances, and a few other payment protections going until the end of September 2025. It also puts off scheduled Medicaid payment cuts to hospitals that treat a lot of low-income patients. It is not the full health department budget — it is the list of programs Congress chose not to let lapse halfway through the year.
Titles
Title I — Public Health Extenders extends existing HHS public-health programs and authorities from April 1, 2025, through September 30, 2025. It funds community health centers, the National Health Service Corps, and teaching health center residency programs (HRSA); the Special Diabetes Program for Type 1 Diabetes (NIH) and the Special Diabetes Program for Indians (IHS); and it pushes several national health-security authorities out to the end of FY2025. Specified funding totals $2,556,212,375.
Spending Breakdown
| Line Item | Amount | Purpose |
| Community health centers | $2,135,835,616 | Primary-care grants for community health centers, April 1–September 30, 2025 |
| National Health Service Corps | $172,972,603 | Loan repayment and scholarships for clinicians in shortage areas, same period |
| Teaching health centers (GME) | $87,739,726 | Graduate medical education at community-based teaching health centers, same period |
| Special Diabetes Program for Type 1 Diabetes | $79,832,215 | Type 1 diabetes research; available until expended |
| Special Diabetes Program for Indians | $79,832,215 | Diabetes prevention and treatment for American Indians and Alaska Natives; available until expended |
| National health security authorities (sec. 2103) | No new amount in this title | Extends existing authorities from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025 |
Notable Sections
- Extensions, not new programs. Sections 2101 and 2102 add partial-year amounts to long-standing mandatory funding streams that had run through March 31, 2025. Diabetes funds may be spent until expended; the HRSA amounts are not given that flexibility in this text.
- Conditions carried forward (sec. 2101(d)). The new community health center, National Health Service Corps, and teaching health center funds must follow the requirements in Public Law 117–328 that apply to Public Health Service Act sections 330–340. A conforming change updates the cross-reference in 18 U.S.C. 3014(h)(4).
- Date-only security extensions (sec. 2103). No dollar amounts. Sunsets move from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025 for temporary reassignment of state and local personnel (PHSA §319(e)), BARDA (§319L), the limited antitrust exemption for countermeasure consultations (§319L–1), the advisory committees on children, seniors, and individuals with disabilities in disasters (§§2811A–2811C), and the National Disaster Medical System (§2812).
- No new programs or policy riders appear in this title.
Plain English
This title keeps community clinics, clinician loan repayment, residency training, diabetes programs, and several emergency-preparedness authorities running through September 30, 2025.
Title Summary
Title II extends expiring Medicare payment policies and program authorities, generally from March 31 or April 1, 2025, through September 30, 2025. It covers low-volume and Medicare-dependent hospitals, ambulance add-ons, the physician work geographic index floor, telehealth and hospital-at-home waivers, temporary Part D coverage of authorized oral antivirals, quality-measure endorsement, and outreach for low-income beneficiaries. It also raises the Medicare Improvement Fund balance and changes the length of specified Medicare sequestration periods.
Spending Breakdown
Amounts below are the figures written into the bill. Several replace lower prior caps and later end dates; the title does not state a total cost for the payment-policy extensions.
| Line Item | Amount | Purpose |
| Quality measure endorsement, input, and selection | $14,030,000 (was $11,030,000) through Sept. 30, 2025 | Extends funding for Medicare quality-measure endorsement and selection |
| State Health Insurance Assistance Programs | $30,000,000 (was $22,500,000) through Sept. 30, 2025 | Outreach and counseling for low-income Medicare beneficiaries |
| Area Agencies on Aging | $30,000,000 (was $22,500,000) through Sept. 30, 2025 | Same low-income outreach and assistance, via area agencies on aging |
| Aging and Disability Resource Centers | $10,000,000 (was $8,500,000) through Sept. 30, 2025 | Outreach and assistance through aging and disability resource centers |
| Benefits-coordination outreach | $30,000,000 (was $22,500,000) through Sept. 30, 2025 | Informing older Americans about federal and state benefits |
| Medicare Improvement Fund | $1,804,000,000 (was $1,251,000,000) | Increases the amount specified for this Medicare fee-for-service reserve fund |
| Low-volume hospital adjustment | Not specified | Extends the increased inpatient payment adjustment for certain low-volume hospitals for fiscal year 2025 |
| Medicare-dependent hospital (MDH) program | Not specified | Extends the MDH program from April 1, 2025, to October 1, 2025 |
| Ambulance add-on payments | Not specified | Extends Medicare ambulance add-on payments to October 1, 2025 |
| Work geographic index floor | Not specified | Extends the physician work geographic practice cost index floor to October 1, 2025 |
| Telehealth flexibilities | Not specified | Extends pandemic-era telehealth rules through Sept. 30, 2025 |
| Acute hospital care at home | Not specified | Extends the hospital-at-home waiver through Sept. 30, 2025 |
| Oral antivirals under Part D | Not specified | Keeps authorized oral antivirals temporarily covered as Part D drugs through Sept. 30, 2025 |
| Medicare sequestration timing | Not specified | Changes one sequestration period from 8 months to 10 months and another from 4 months to 2 months |
The five outreach and quality-measure caps rise by $27,000,000 in total ($3,000,000 for quality measures and $24,000,000 for the four outreach programs). The Medicare Improvement Fund figure rises by $553,000,000.
Notable Sections
- No new programs. Sections 2201–2209 extend existing authorities rather than create new ones. The Secretary may implement the low-volume hospital and telehealth changes by program instruction, without ordinary rulemaking.
- Telehealth (Sec. 2207). Through September 30, 2025, the title continues waiver of geographic limits and expanded originating sites, a broader set of eligible practitioners, telehealth at federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics, audio-only telehealth, telehealth for hospice face-to-face recertification, and a delay of in-person visit requirements for mental health services delivered by telehealth.
- Hospital at home and Part D antivirals (Secs. 2208–2209). Acute hospital care at home waiver authority, and temporary Part D coverage of authorized oral antiviral drugs, both run through September 30, 2025.
- Rural payment policies (Secs. 2201–2203, 2206). Low-volume hospital add-ons, the Medicare-dependent hospital program, ambulance add-ons, and the work geographic index floor are all extended for the rest of fiscal year 2025.
- Sequestration timing (Sec. 2211). Under the Balanced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act, one specified Medicare sequestration period is lengthened from 8 months to 10 months and another is shortened from 4 months to 2 months. The text does not state the payment-reduction percentage or the fiscal year. Congress has used this kind of timing change to offset near-term Medicare extensions.
- Medicare Improvement Fund (Sec. 2210). The fund’s specified balance is raised from $1,251,000,000 to $1,804,000,000. The fund is available for improvements to original Medicare fee-for-service; changing its balance is also a common budget-scoring device.
Plain English
Through September 30, 2025, Medicare continues extra payments for certain rural hospitals, ambulances, and physicians, keeps expanded telehealth and hospital-at-home coverage, and funds programs that help low-income seniors find and use their benefits.
Title Summary
Title III extends three existing Social Security Act human-services programs through the end of fiscal year 2025. It converts partial-year authority (October 1, 2024–March 31, 2025) into full-year authority for Sexual Risk Avoidance Education (SSA §510), the Personal Responsibility Education Program (SSA §513), and Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (SSA §501(c)). It does not create new programs.
Spending Breakdown
| Line Item | Amount | Purpose |
| Sexual Risk Avoidance Education (SSA §510; 42 U.S.C. 710) | Full FY2025 amount equal to the previously appropriated amount (dollar figure not stated in this title) | Replaces pro rata funding through March 31, 2025 with full-year FY2025 funding for sexual risk avoidance education |
| Personal Responsibility Education Program (SSA §513; 42 U.S.C. 713) | Full FY2025 amount equal to the FY2024 appropriation (dollar figure not stated in this title) | Replaces pro rata funding through March 31, 2025 with full-year FY2025 funding for personal responsibility education |
| Family-to-Family Health Information Centers (SSA §501(c)(1)(A)(viii); 42 U.S.C. 701) | $6,000,000 for FY2025 | Replaces $3,000,000 for the portion of FY2025 before April 1, 2025 with full-year funding |
The $6,000,000 figure matches a full year at the prior partial-year rate ($3,000,000 for the first half of FY2025). This title does not state dollar amounts for the other two programs; it sets them equal to the prior appropriation rather than a pro rata share.
Notable Sections
- Secs. 2301–2302 are extensions only. They strike “the period beginning on October 1, 2024, and ending on March 31, 2025” and the related pro rata funding language, and substitute full fiscal year 2025 (for PREP, explicitly equal to the FY2024 amount). Sec. 2301 also strikes the phrase “or 2025” in §510(a)(1).
- Sec. 2303 is the only provision with an explicit dollar amount: $6,000,000 for FY2025 in place of $3,000,000 before April 1, 2025.
- No new programs, eligibility changes, or funding restrictions appear in this title. SRAE and PREP are long-standing, often debated approaches to teen pregnancy prevention; this text extends both on the same full-year basis and does not choose between them.
Plain English
This title keeps three existing health and teen-education programs funded for all of fiscal year 2025 instead of letting that funding stop at the end of March.
Title Summary
Title IV (Medicaid) does not appropriate new funds. Its single provision, Section 2401, amends Section 1923(f)(7)(A) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1396r–4(f)(7)(A)) to delay scheduled reductions in Medicaid disproportionate share hospital (DSH) allotments. It drops a reduction window of April 1, 2025, through September 30, 2025, and extends the end of the reduction schedule from 2027 to 2028.
Spending Breakdown
| Line Item | Amount | Purpose |
| No appropriation or dollar figure in this title | — | Statutory amendment only; delays Medicaid DSH allotment reductions rather than providing new funding |
The title text specifies no dollar amounts.
Notable Sections
- Sec. 2401 — Delaying Medicaid DSH reductions. Strikes “For the period beginning April 1, 2025, and ending September 30, 2025, and for” (and the parallel clause (ii) language) and replaces “through 2027” with “through 2028.” Related “or period” references are also struck so the statute no longer treats that 2025 partial-year window as a separate reduction period.
- Effect: Pushes back cuts to Medicaid DSH payments—supplemental payments to hospitals that serve large numbers of low-income and uninsured patients. Congress has repeatedly postponed these reductions; this title continues that pattern by one year and eliminates the April–September 2025 reduction period. No new program is created, and no funding level is set in the text.
Plain English
This title postpones cuts to extra Medicaid payments that help hospitals caring for many low-income and uninsured patients, extending the current schedule through 2028 instead of letting reductions take effect as previously written.