Making further continuing appropriations and other extensions for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, and for other purposes.
Overview
Headline Summary
This is a full-year stopgap funding bill for fiscal year 2025 (H.R. 1968, 119th Congress): the Full-Year Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2025. It keeps most of the federal government running through September 30, 2025, by carrying forward last year’s (fiscal year 2024) spending laws, with targeted overrides, and it extends health programs and a few other authorities that were set to expire in mid-March 2025. The materials provided do not state when the bill was signed.
By The Numbers
- Total spending: Not calculable from this bill alone. The base rule is “such amounts as may be necessary” at fiscal year 2024 levels. Only exceptions are written out as dollar amounts.
- Divisions: 3
- Sections: Not stated in the materials provided
- Titles: Division A has 13 titles; Division B has 4; Division C has none
- Largest dollar figures written into the text: $1,900,000,000; $1,353,000,000; and $30,000,000 — described as Defense account adjustments. The source summary cuts off after those figures, so this is not a complete list of exceptions.
- Divisions B and C: No appropriation totals and, in Division C, no dollar amounts at all
Division Overview
- Division A — Full-Year Continuing Appropriations Act, 2025: The core of the bill. It funds virtually every major department — Defense, Veterans Affairs, Homeland Security, Health and Human Services, Agriculture, Energy, Interior, State, Transportation, Housing, and the rest — through September 30, 2025, at fiscal year 2024 levels and under last year’s conditions, unless this division says otherwise. No grand total is stated. The largest written exceptions in the materials are $1.9 billion, $1.353 billion, and $30 million, tied to Defense accounts (list incomplete in the source summary).
- Division B — Health: Not a full Health and Human Services budget. It extends expiring public health, Medicare, Medicaid, and human-services programs and payment rules, mostly from March 31, 2025, to September 30 or October 1, 2025, and sets second-half-of-year funding for several community and diabetes programs. It does not set regular operating budgets for agencies such as NIH, CDC, or FDA. No single total is stated.
- Division C — Other Matters: A short package that does not appropriate new program money. It extends several legal authorities from mid-March 2025 to September 30, 2025, and sets special budget-scorekeeping rules for this division and Division B. No dollar amounts.
Biggest Ticket Items
A full ranked list cannot be built from these materials, because Division A does not restate the underlying fiscal year 2024 appropriations and the summary of written exceptions is cut off. What is identifiable:
1. Baseline for almost the entire federal government — continued at fiscal year 2024 enacted levels through September 30, 2025 (“such amounts as may be necessary,” including transfers and obligation limits). That baseline is the dominant spending decision in the bill; its dollar total is not printed here.
2. $1,900,000,000 — largest written Defense account figure in the materials.
3. $1,353,000,000 — second-largest written Defense account figure in the materials.
4. $30,000,000 — third written figure, also described as a Defense account amount.
5. Health extensions (Division B) — no total given; funding is for the second half of the fiscal year for specified community and diabetes programs, plus continuation of Medicare payment rules and other expiring health authorities.
6. Division C authorities — $0 in new appropriations; date extensions only (including CFTC whistleblower authority and counter-drone authority).
Further individual account exceptions exist in Division A but are not fully listed in the summary provided.
Notable & Controversial
The materials do not describe floor debate or name specific controversial riders. What is structurally notable:
- A full-year continuing resolution instead of new department bills. Most agencies keep fiscal year 2024 dollar levels and conditions through September 30, 2025, rather than receiving freshly negotiated line items. Supporters of this approach generally argue it avoids a shutdown and locks in last year’s deal; critics generally argue it freezes priorities, limits Congress’s ability to shift money toward new needs, and leaves agencies operating under old instructions.
- Targeted overrides only where written. Anything not explicitly changed stays at the prior-year rate. That makes the unlisted exception list important — and that list is incomplete in the summary provided.
- Health cliff avoided, not a new health budget. Programs and Medicare payment rules that earlier law carried only through March 31, 2025, are generally pushed to September 30 or October 1, 2025. People who rely on those programs keep coverage rules in place for the rest of the fiscal year; the bill does not reset NIH, CDC, or FDA operating budgets.
- Short-fuse authorities extended to fiscal year-end (Division C). The Commodity Futures Trading Commission whistleblower program (Public Law 117–25) and Homeland Security Act authority to protect certain facilities and assets from unmanned aircraft are both extended from March 14, 2025, to September 30, 2025. These are date changes, not new funding. Extending counter-drone authority is often debated as a security tool versus a limit on where and how the government may detect or disrupt drones.
- Special scorekeeping rules for Divisions B and C change how budgetary effects are counted. That is a process provision, not a program people enroll in; it can affect how large the bill appears under congressional budget rules.
What It Means For You
For the rest of fiscal year 2025 — through September 30, 2025 — this bill is what keeps federal services open at roughly last year’s funding: Social Security administration, veterans’ care, national parks, airport and highway programs, food assistance administration, border and disaster agencies, and defense all continue under the prior year’s rules unless Congress wrote a specific exception. It is not a tax bill, and it does not, on its face, change your tax rates. If you or a family member uses Medicare, Medicaid, a community health program, or a diabetes program that was scheduled to lapse in spring 2025, those rules and payments are generally extended through the end of the fiscal year rather than dropped on March 31. Day to day, the practical effect is continuity: offices stay open and last year’s program rules mostly still apply, with a smaller set of account-level changes (the largest written ones in these materials are Defense figures of $1.9 billion and $1.353 billion) that the bill text does not roll up into a single new total.
Divisions
Each division covers a major department or agency. Click to see the full breakdown.
Overview
Division A is not a single-department spending bill. It is a full-year continuing resolution for fiscal year 2025: it keeps most of the federal government funded through September 30, 2025, by carrying forward the fiscal year 2024 appropriations laws, then overrides those levels for specific accounts. It covers virtually every major department—Defense, Veterans Affairs, Homeland Security, Health and Human Services, Agriculture, Energy, Interior, State, Transportation, Housing, and the rest—under the same rules and conditions as last year unless this division says otherwise.
Total Spending
No single total is stated in the text. The base rule is “such amounts as may be necessary” at fiscal year 2024 levels, including transfers and obligation limits. Only the exceptions are written out as dollar amounts. A grand total cannot be calculated from this division alone without the underlying 2024 acts.
The largest figures that are written out are Defense account levels (hundreds of billions across pay, operations, procurement, and research), a $261.1 billion Medicaid advance for the first quarter of fiscal year 2026, and large Veterans Affairs advances for fiscal year 2026, including $227.2 billion for compensation and pensions.
Key Funding Areas
- Defense military pay (active duty): about $144.5 billion combined — Army $51.2 billion, Navy $38.8 billion, Air Force $37.0 billion, Marine Corps $16.2 billion, and Space Force $1.3 billion, plus about $26.9 billion for Reserve and National Guard pay.
- Defense operations and maintenance (six main accounts): about $263.5 billion — including Navy $73.7 billion, Air Force $63.2 billion, Army $58.0 billion, and Defense-wide $53.4 billion — for day-to-day military operations.
- Defense research, development, test, and evaluation: about $141.2 billion — Air Force $46.8 billion, Defense-wide $35.2 billion, Navy $26.0 billion, Space Force $18.6 billion, and Army $14.3 billion.
- Navy shipbuilding: $33.3 billion — Columbia-class and Virginia-class submarines, DDG-51 destroyers, aircraft-carrier work, and $2.4 billion to cover prior-year shipbuilding cost overruns.
- Defense Health Program: $40.4 billion — military health care. Separately, $8.0 billion is added for U.S. operations, force protection, and deterrence under Central Command and European Command, available only after the Pentagon sends Congress an execution plan.
- FEMA Disaster Relief Fund: $22.5 billion — major disasters under the Stafford Act, designated as disaster relief.
- Veterans health advances for fiscal year 2026: $75.0 billion for medical services, $34.0 billion for community care, $12.7 billion for medical support, and $9.7 billion for medical facilities, available October 1, 2025. An additional $6.0 billion goes to the Cost of War Toxic Exposure Fund.
- Housing assistance: $32.0 billion for tenant-based rental assistance (housing vouchers) and $16.5 billion for project-based rental assistance, plus $931 million for housing for the elderly and $257 million for housing for people with disabilities.
- WIC: $7.6 billion — food assistance for low-income women, infants, and children. Food safety inspection is set at $1.2 billion.
- Other large specified levels: Homeland Security operations include ICE $10.0 billion, TSA $10.6 billion, and Coast Guard $10.4 billion. Nuclear weapons activities at the National Nuclear Security Administration are $19.3 billion. FAA operations are $13.5 billion. Social Security administrative expenses are capped at $14.1 billion.
Mandatory advance payments for the first quarter of fiscal year 2026 also include $261.1 billion for Medicaid grants to states, $22.1 billion for Supplemental Security Income, $3.6 billion for foster care and permanency, and $1.6 billion for child support and family support.
Notable Provisions
- Last year’s earmarks are void. Any fiscal year 2024 congressional earmark, community project funding, or congressionally directed spending item has no legal effect on money provided by this division.
- No new starts that were banned last year. Agencies cannot start or restart a project or activity that appropriations law specifically prohibited in fiscal year 2024. For Defense, new projects generally must also have been included in the House- or Senate-passed fiscal year 2025 defense bills.
- Funding runs through September 30, 2025, and spending already made under the earlier short-term continuing resolution is charged to these accounts.
- More flexibility for the Pentagon. A major Defense transfer cap rises from $6 billion to $8 billion. Another reprogramming limit rises from 20 percent to 40 percent. A new $89 million credit-program account can support up to $4 billion in loans and loan guarantees for defense industrial-base investment.
- Defense rescissions. About $1.43 billion in unobligated prior-year Defense funds is permanently canceled, including $80 million from the Afghanistan Security Forces Fund and large amounts from Air Force research and procurement.
- Homeland Security and foreign-aid clawbacks. Unobligated DHS balances are rescinded account by account, plus $133 million from a DHS nonrecurring-expenses fund. $111 million in old debt-restructuring money at the State Department is rescinded. International peacekeeping contributions are set at $1.23 billion.
- Several set-asides are zeroed out in Justice grants, EPA state and tribal assistance, health, education, and job-training accounts—consistent with dropping project-specific add-ons rather than rewriting whole programs. The NIH Innovation Account under the CURES Act is cut from $407 million to $127 million.
- Program extensions. Livestock mandatory price reporting is extended through 2025. The National Flood Insurance Program is extended through the life of this act. Afghan allies protections and certain refugee provisions are extended through 2025. Israel loan-guarantee authority is extended one year, to September 30, 2030. The U.S. Parole Commission’s authorization is extended by substituting “37” for “36.”
- Inauguration and elections. $50 million of a $90 million D.C. emergency-planning payment is for January 2025 inauguration security costs. Election security grants are $15 million. No funds are provided for the General Services Administration’s pre-election presidential transition account.
- Disaster and water projects. Small Business Administration disaster loans are $406 million, of which $374 million is for major disasters. The Army Corps must send Congress a fiscal year 2025 civil-works plan within 60 days, limited to projects already active. Prior-year water-storage and reuse money is directed to California’s Sites Reservoir and several water-reuse projects. The authorization cap for a northwestern New Mexico rural water project rises from $870 million to $1.64 billion.
- Oversight. Major departments must send Congress a fiscal year 2025 spending plan within 45 days. The Office of Management and Budget must report monthly, starting May 15, 2025, on obligations compared with the same period in fiscal year 2024.
Who Benefits
Service members, military families, and defense contractors benefit from pay, operations, shipbuilding, and research funding, including extra money for operations in the Middle East and Europe. Veterans benefit from large health-care and benefits advances and the toxic-exposure fund. People hit by major disasters benefit from FEMA and SBA disaster accounts. Low-income families benefit from WIC, housing vouchers, Medicaid advances, SSI, foster care, and child support payments. Rural communities benefit from water, conservation, telemedicine, and broadband accounts. Air travelers and renters benefit from FAA operations funding and HUD rental assistance. The bill also funds core operations at nearly every federal agency, so the practical beneficiaries are the public services those agencies already run.
Plain English Summary
Congress did not finish twelve separate spending bills for 2025. Instead it passed one law that says: keep paying for government at last year’s levels through September 30, 2025, with a long list of exceptions. The Pentagon, veterans’ health and benefits, disaster aid, food aid for mothers and young children, and rental assistance are among the biggest amounts written into the text. A lot of last year’s hometown project earmarks are canceled, some old unspent defense and homeland-security money is taken back, and agencies have to tell Congress how they plan to spend the year. If you use a federal service—from airport security to a housing voucher to veterans’ care—this is the law that keeps the lights on for the rest of the fiscal year, mostly on last year’s blueprint.
Division B — HEALTH
4 titlesDivision B — Health is part of the Full-Year Continuing Appropriations and Extensions Act, 2025 (H.R. 1968). It is not a full Department of Health and Human Services budget. It extends expiring public health, Medicare, Medicaid, and human-services programs, mostly through September 30, 2025 (the end of fiscal year 2025).
Overview
This division keeps a set of health programs and Medicare payment rules from expiring in spring 2025. Earlier law had carried many of them only through March 31, 2025. Division B generally pushes those deadlines to September 30 or October 1, 2025, and sets funding for the second half of the fiscal year for several community and diabetes programs. It does not set the regular operating budgets for agencies such as the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the Food and Drug Administration.
Total Spending
There is no single total for this division. It is a package of extensions, not a department-wide appropriation.
The largest amounts written into the text are mandatory-style program funds for April 1, 2025, through September 30, 2025:
- About $2.56 billion combined for community health centers, the National Health Service Corps, teaching health centers, and the two special diabetes programs.
Other stated amounts (Medicare outreach, quality measurement, family health information centers, and the Medicare Improvement Fund) are separate and are listed below. Many Medicare and Medicaid items change payment rules or expiration dates and do not include a dollar figure in this text.
Key Funding Areas
- Community Health Centers: $2,135,835,616 — about $2.14 billion for April 1–September 30, 2025, for clinics that serve people in underserved areas regardless of ability to pay.
- National Health Service Corps: $172,972,603 — about $173 million for the same six months, for scholarships and loan repayment for clinicians who work in shortage areas.
- Teaching health centers (physician training): $87,739,726 — about $87.7 million for the same period, for residency programs based in community clinics rather than only in large hospitals.
- Special Diabetes Program (Type 1): $79,832,215 — about $79.8 million for April 1–September 30, 2025, available until spent, for Type 1 diabetes research and related work.
- Special Diabetes Program for Indians: $79,832,215 — about $79.8 million for the same period, available until spent, for diabetes prevention and treatment for American Indians and Alaska Natives.
- Medicare outreach and benefits counseling: amounts available through September 30, 2025, are raised to $30 million for State Health Insurance Assistance Programs, $30 million for Area Agencies on Aging, $10 million for Aging and Disability Resource Centers, and $30 million to coordinate efforts to tell older Americans about benefits. Those replace lower amounts that ran only through March 31, 2025 ($22.5 million, $22.5 million, $8.5 million, and $22.5 million).
- Medicare quality-measure work: funding is raised from $11.03 million to $14.03 million, and the end date moves from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Family-to-Family Health Information Centers: $6 million for all of fiscal year 2025, replacing $3 million that covered only the part of the year before April 1, 2025.
- Medicare Improvement Fund: the amount in the fund is raised from $1.251 billion to $1.804 billion (an increase of $553 million). The text does not spell out new projects for that increase.
Sexual risk avoidance education and personal responsibility education are extended for the full fiscal year at the prior annual funding level. This division does not print those dollar amounts.
Notable Provisions
- Medicare telehealth rules stay in place through September 30, 2025. That includes care from home and outside rural areas, a wider set of clinicians, telehealth at federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics, audio-only visits, hospice recertification visits, and a delay of in-person visit requirements for mental health care delivered by telehealth.
- Hospital care at home waiver authority is extended from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Extra Medicare payments for rural and small hospitals continue through the end of fiscal year 2025, including the low-volume hospital adjustment and the Medicare-dependent hospital program (extended to October 1, 2025).
- Ambulance add-on payments and the floor on the physician work geographic index (which props up payments in lower-cost areas) are extended to October 1, 2025.
- Certain oral antiviral drugs remain covered under Medicare Part D through September 30, 2025.
- Medicaid cuts to disproportionate-share hospital payments are delayed. The bill drops a cut that had been scheduled for April 1–September 30, 2025, and moves the reduction schedule so it runs through 2028 instead of through 2027. The text does not state the dollar size of those delayed cuts.
- National health security authorities are extended from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025, including dates tied to the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, the National Disaster Medical System, and related preparedness provisions. No new dollar amounts are set in that section.
- Teen pregnancy-prevention education programs — sexual risk avoidance education and the Personal Responsibility Education Program — are funded for the full fiscal year 2025 rather than only a partial, pro-rated period.
- Medicare sequestration timing is adjusted. One statutory period changes from 8 months to 10 months, and another from 4 months to 2 months. The text does not state the payment cut percentage or the budget effect.
- The Secretary of Health and Human Services may carry out several of the Medicare changes by program instruction rather than full new regulations.
Who Benefits
- Patients of community health centers, including people who are uninsured or underinsured and people in rural and medically underserved areas.
- Doctors, nurses, and other clinicians who get National Health Service Corps support to practice in shortage areas, and residents training in community-based teaching health centers.
- People with Type 1 diabetes, and American Indian and Alaska Native communities served by the Special Diabetes Program for Indians.
- Medicare beneficiaries who use telehealth, hospital-at-home care, ambulance services, or certain oral antivirals, and rural beneficiaries whose doctors are protected by the geographic payment floor.
- Small, rural, and Medicare-dependent hospitals, and hospitals that receive Medicaid disproportionate-share payments for serving low-income patients.
- Older adults and people with disabilities who get help understanding Medicare and other benefits through state and local aging and disability programs.
- Families of children with special health care needs, through Family-to-Family Health Information Centers.
- Youth served by the sexual risk avoidance and personal responsibility education programs. The bill text does not identify grantees or enrollment numbers.
Plain English Summary
This slice of the bill is a “don’t let these health programs expire” package for the rest of fiscal year 2025. It puts about $2.14 billion more into community health centers for April through September, plus smaller amounts for clinician loan repayment, doctor training in community clinics, and diabetes programs, including a program for American Indians and Alaska Natives. For people on Medicare, it keeps pandemic-era telehealth rules, hospital-at-home care, extra payments for rural hospitals and ambulances, and a few other payment protections going until the end of September 2025. It also puts off scheduled Medicaid payment cuts to hospitals that treat a lot of low-income patients. It is not the full health department budget — it is the list of programs Congress chose not to let lapse halfway through the year.
Division C — OTHER MATTERS
0 titlesOverview
Division C does not fund a single department. It is a short package of “other matters” that extends several expiring legal authorities from mid-March 2025 to September 30, 2025 (the end of the federal fiscal year), and it sets special budget-scorekeeping rules for this division and Division B. It does not itself appropriate new program money.
Total Spending
No total appropriation is stated in this division. The text contains no dollar amounts. It only changes expiration dates and how budgetary effects are scored.
Key Funding Areas
This division does not list spending items. What it extends:
- CFTC whistleblower program: No dollar amount stated — extends the Commodity Futures Trading Commission whistleblower authority (Public Law 117–25) from March 14, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Counter-drone authority: No dollar amount stated — extends Homeland Security Act authority to protect certain facilities and assets from unmanned aircraft from March 14, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Additional special assessment (18 U.S.C. 3014): No dollar amount stated — extends the sunset date of this criminal special-assessment provision from March 14, 2025, to September 30, 2025. The bill does not set or change the assessment amount.
- National Cybersecurity Protection System: No dollar amount stated — extends the authorization in the Federal Cybersecurity Enhancement Act of 2015 from March 14, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
- Temporary fentanyl-related-substance order: No dollar amount stated — extends the temporary emergency scheduling order for fentanyl-related substances from March 31, 2025, to September 30, 2025.
Notable Provisions
- Five separate authorities that were set to lapse in March 2025 are extended to September 30, 2025. The operative change in each case is a date substitution, not a rewrite of the underlying program.
- The fentanyl extension is written to take effect as if it had been part of the original Temporary Reauthorization and Study of the Emergency Scheduling of Fentanyl Analogues Act (Public Law 116–114). Its old date (March 31, 2025) differs slightly from the March 14, 2025 date used in the other sections.
- Budget scoring exemption: Budgetary effects of Divisions B and C are not entered on statutory PAYGO scorecards under the Statutory Pay-As-You-Go Act of 2010, or on Senate PAYGO scorecards tied to H. Con. Res. 71 (115th Congress).
- Those same effects are also not estimated for certain discretionary spending-cap and appropriations-allocation purposes, and are not treated as included in an appropriation Act for one PAYGO classification rule.
- The text does not explain why these authorities were chosen, how much the extensions cost or save, or what happens after September 30, 2025.
Who Benefits
- CFTC and whistleblowers who report commodity-market misconduct, because that program’s authority continues.
- Homeland security and related federal protective operations, which keep temporary authority to address drones threatening covered facilities and assets.
- Federal cybersecurity operations, which keep authorization for the National Cybersecurity Protection System used to defend federal networks.
- Justice and anti-trafficking funds tied to 18 U.S.C. 3014, because courts may continue imposing that special assessment through September 30, 2025. The bill text does not name the recipient fund.
- Law enforcement and public-health regulators enforcing controls on fentanyl-related substances, because the temporary scheduling order stays in place longer.
- Congressional budget process, in a technical sense: Divisions B and C are shielded from certain automatic PAYGO and scorekeeping consequences.
Plain English Summary
This slice of the bill is not a normal spending chapter with a price tag. It is a set of short extensions that keep five existing programs or legal authorities from expiring in March 2025 and push those deadlines to September 30, 2025: a market-fraud whistleblower program, authority to deal with threatening drones, a special court assessment tied to certain criminal cases, a federal cybersecurity system, and the temporary classification of fentanyl-related substances. It also tells budget scorekeepers not to count the budgetary effects of this division and Division B on the usual PAYGO scorecards. If you are looking for how many dollars Congress is handing an agency, that number is not in this division.